Cannot permanently disable online version check
Closed, ResolvedPublic

Description

Hi,

I'm trying to disable 'Allow online software version check' options located on 'Settings' -> 'Configure Kleopatra' -> 'GnuPG System' -> 'Network' tab.
Every time Kleopatra is started, this option is being enabled again.

I have also tried to manually remove 'allow-version-check' from dirmngr.conf but it's being added when Kleopatra starts.

Best Regards,
Maciej

mdk created this task.Jun 25 2018, 2:09 PM
aheinecke triaged this task as Normal priority.Jun 25 2018, 3:28 PM
aheinecke added a project: kleopatra.
aheinecke claimed this task.
aheinecke added a subscriber: aheinecke.

Right. The only way to disable it is if an update notification pops up. If you then unselect "Show this notification for future updates" it is disabled. And you only get to that dialog if there is an update check.

It would be better if it only sets allow-version-check once and if its removed will never set it again. So Bug -> Normal prio.

Workaround:
Edit %APPDATA%\kleopatra\kleopatrarc

Create or edit:

[UpdateNotification]
NeverShow=false

To:
NeverShow=true

aheinecke changed the task status from Open to Testing.

Will be fixed with the next release. With the next release kleopatra will only set "allow-version-check" once except if the user explicitly selects "help -> check for updates".

mdk added a comment.Jun 26 2018, 10:58 AM

Thanks a lot!

aheinecke closed this task as Resolved.Sep 4 2018, 9:23 AM

Gpg4win-3.1.3 was released.