File deletion during encryption
Closed, WontfixPublic

Description

I just recently upgraded from Version 2. I noticed that the new version 3.1.12 does not delete the file upon encryption like the previous versions did. The tick to remove the file after encryption is no longer an option. I always used this option to remove the file after encryption. I don't change the names of the files that I encrypt, and I modify some of them on a daily basis. I am not concerned about wiping the file, but it is very important to me to know that I have encrypted the most current file without having to check a hundred different date stamps on each of the encrypted/unencrypted files. I can wipe the files in a later step.

Details

Version
Kleopatra Version 3.1.12 (-Gpg4win-3.1.12)

Related Objects

rkolvick created this task.Wed, Sep 2, 6:31 AM
aheinecke closed this task as Wontfix.Wed, Sep 2, 12:49 PM
aheinecke claimed this task.
aheinecke added a subscriber: aheinecke.

Hi,

I have removed that feature intentionally. There were some issues where encryption errors were not properly reported to Kleopatra and handled by Kleopatra. This could result in catastrophic data loss. I have fixed ~3 issues regarding to that and then decided that in our architecture we cannot absolutely guarantee that this never can happen and cannot happen in the future. We have resolved all the issues, but they could occur again.

Another side effect of this feature was that some users claimed that it was a security issue that the file was just deleted and not wiped. And I don't want Kleopatra to become a file wipe tool for Windows, this is ot of scope.

I hope this explanation helps, sorry that it's a bit annoying for you to delete the files but we don't want to have the responsibility for the deletion of files.

Thanks for your reply, but it is an OPTIONAL feature. The annoying part is not deleting the files. Comparing hundreds of time stamps to ensure you are current on what you want encrypted vs. unencrypted files that are either under development and/or complete, and therefore ready for encryption. This frequently needed comparison takes a significant amount of time, and is prone to error. Any responsible user will ensure there are tested file backups to prevent catastrophic losses, or they can simply NOT use the option.